Trustee Area Elections
Logo for trustee area elections
change is coming – be part of it 

Help Shape Trustee Area Election Boundaries

The draft maps are in! Please review and comment

Get Involved Now:

Transitioning to trustee area elections 

On March 11, 2019, the Foothill-De Anza Community College District Board of Trustees adopted a resolution stating that the district will change the way that voters elect trustees for the first time since its founding in 1957.

Under the new system, instead of electing governing board members “at-large” with results decided by a districtwide vote, voters will elect one trustee from each of five smaller geographic areas, beginning in November 2022. The district's 400,000+ residents will be divided into five "trustee areas" of roughly equal population size based on the 2020 Census. To run for election in a trustee area, a candidate must live in that area. The new system is intended to provide fair and equal representation for all district residents and will make it easier and less expensive to campaign for a seat on the board.

Public involvement is essential to the process of dividing the district into trustee areas. 

The decision to move to trustee area elections – also called "by-district" elections – was made in response to a demand letter from a lawyer representing a district resident, Sebastian Aguilar, which asserted that the Foothill-De Anza Community College District's system of at-large elections may violate the California Voting Rights Act. It is one of many similar letters sent to local jurisdictions in recent years claiming that at-large elections abridge the voting rights of minority populations. These letters state that unless a change is made to by-district elections is made, a lawsuit will be filed. 

This website is intended to inform district residents about the "districting" process and how to participate in it. 

All aspects of the process will be conducted openly and in public. Recordings of meetings, presentations, and draft trustee area boundary maps, once drawn, will all be available on this website. 

Trustee area elections will be implemented over two election cycles. 

Do you live in the district?

You can determine if you live in the district by typing your address into the 
Look Up Your District tool on the website of the Santa Clara County Registrar of Voters.

You can also check the district boundary map. Foothill-De Anza encompasses the Palo Alto Unified, Mountain View Los Altos Union High School and Fremont Union High School districts.