League for Innovation Student Art Competition

League for Innovation 2016 Student Art Competition Logo

The League for Innovation in the Community College is a 48-year-old international organization dedicated to catalyzing the community college movement. The League provides exceptional opportunities for students through the pursuit of projects and ideas that promote innovation and creativity.

The Student Art Competition, now in its 31st year, enables community college students to compete with their peers across North America.  Notably, the competition provides a means to showcase a selection of the best works being created by today’s community college students. The host for this year’s competition is Foothill-De Anza Community College District in Los Altos Hills, California.

The League for Innovation will distribute the following awards:

  • Best of Show: $800
  • Second Place: $350
  • Third Place: $200
  • Juror’s Choice Awards (3): $100 each  

Certificates of Merit will recognize all students whose works are submitted to the national competition and their artwork will be included in the competition catalog.

League for Innovation in the Community College Board Member Colleges

Anne Arundel Community College - Arnold, Maryland
Central Piedmont Community College - Charlotte, North Carolina
Cuyahoga Community College - Cleveland, Ohio
Dallas County Community College District - Dallas, Texas
Delta College - University Center, Michigan
Foothill-De Anza Community College District - Los Altos Hills, California
Humber College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning - Toronto, Canada
Johnson County Community College - Overland Park, Kansas
Kirkwood Community College - Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Lane Community College - Eugene, Oregon
Maricopa Community College District - Phoenix, Arizona
Monroe Community College - Rochester, New York
Moraine Valley Community College - Palos Hills, Illinois
San Diego Community College District - San Diego, California
Santa Fe College - Gainesville, Florida
Seattle Colleges - Seattle, Washington
Sinclair Community College - Dayton, Ohio
Southern Alberta Institute of Technology - Calgary, Canada
Valencia College - Orlando, Florida

Information on the submission process and deadlines have been sent to campus coordinators. Host School Coordinator for this year’s art competition is Kate Jordahl, Professor of Photography, Foothill College. Contact her at