Foothill and De Anza colleges are accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC). The commission reaffirmed the accreditation of each college in 2012.

Being awarded accreditation means a college has met standards of quality set by the accrediting organization. Accreditation is necessary for colleges to participate in federal and some state financial aid programs and is important for the acceptance and transfer of college credits.

During the accreditation process, each college conducts an extensive self-study and is visited by an external accreditation team that reports to ACCJC. The study and site visit evaluate each college‚Äôs institutional mission and effectiveness, student learning programs and services, resources, and leadership and governance. Accreditation is reconsidered every six years.